If you are an Alabama driver who is facing your first DUI conviction, you are most probably wondering what you should expect from this DUI charge. First, you need to understand that you can be arrested for DUI in this state based on either your blood alcohol content or your driving pattern. If you are obviously drunk and your driving pattern indicates that you are not fit to be driving, you can be arrested and charge with an Alabama DUI. Also, you can be arrested if your BAC is .08% or higher, even if you appear to be driving safely.
Once you are arrested, you only have ten days to make the request to the department of motor vehicles to allow you to retain your driver's license. Most people let their DUI attorney make this request for them so that they are ensured that it is done correctly and in a timely manner. Your license will automatically be suspended if you do not make the request in time. The typical suspension for someone who is convicted of his or her first DUI is ninty days.
If you are convicted, you will face misdemeanor charges. You will have to pay between $600 and $2,100 in fines. You will also have to attend a substance abuse program. The law allows DUI convictions in Alabama to come with a jail sentence of up to 365 days, but a skilled attorney can help ensure that you do not have to go to jail after your drunk driving arrest.
Here is more information about Alabama DUI Laws. You can also check the DUI Laws for all 50 US States at DUIConsequences.com
Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Cary_Bergeron