Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Creative Commons Explained

Creative Commons explained in non-technical terms, is a licensing committee that allows people who create works of art to allow others certain uses for their work which can include the ability to edit or re use for either commercial or non-commercial purposes. As of right now there are four different levels of licensing that a creator can grant. And they are:

Attribution - This is most common of the four and this license allows users to make editions to the creators work. Usually there is a stipulation that the design by link stay in the footer of the page.

Share alike - Under this type of license any changes to the works must become licensed under the original license.

No derivatives - Doesn't allow any type of modification at all.

Non-Commercial - Means that works can be used for informational or personal purposes but not for any type of commercial uses.

These licenses can pretty much apply to a variety of different type of works, such web design templates, word press templates, movies, broadcast footage, and even some formal publications. You typically see these type of licenses on many of the template design sites and the creator will generally tell you what type of whether or not you are allowed to use the works in a personal or business setting. Additionally, if you are searching for clip art for the web page a lot of times, you will see that they have creative commons license as well, however the art work in this category is general non-commercial.

For more information be sure to visit find copyright free which has all kinds of copyright free and creative commons resources. Additionally, check out the copyright free clip art section for a great directory of sites offering free materials. Hopefully this was informative and now you understand a bit better what this licensing is all about. Until next time, take care.

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Michael_L_Leigh

No comments:

Post a Comment

I thank for the comment!